Being Blunt

Why do you think that people, in general, can’t be honest with one another?

Is there a reason someone can’t approach someone else and say, “I only want you for sex”?

Is there a reason someone can’t say, “I like you… but my moral code refuses to let me date someone who has royally screwed up in a relationship. And been divorced.”

Or, “You live too far away. I’d consider dating you if you lived closer.”

Maybe even, “I really care about this other person. And I’m waiting for her. She’s the only one in my eyes and I don’t want to give you false hope. Nothing will happen with us because she’s mine.”

In my heart… yeah. It sucks to not be wanted. I WANT to be wanted. And I’ve never really felt this before. But I can’t change this. And I’d be a fool to try. But I think what makes this worse for many women and men who are smitten with someone…is that the other person isn’t straight forward. Or blunt.

And it’s because they’re being too darn nice and don’t want to hurt your feelings. I’d rather be hurt. Then it sort of makes all this healing go faster, and allows me to never wonder, “what if…”

~ by shespeakstruth on February 20, 2013.