Running vs. the Gym

One of my many love/hate relationships: Running vs. the Gym.

Somedays I feel like it takes my everything to get out of bed at 4 a.m. and go to the gym.

Once I’m there, I’m productive. I feel good. I have zero regrets for going (does anyone really regret going to the gym after? Or say, “God, that was the worst decision ever” and actually mean it?). But going to the gym, for me, means sacrificing my availability during the night. When I’m up at 4 a.m., my days look something like this:

4 a.m.: Alarm goes off. Hit Snooze button a few times.

4:20 a.m.: Get out of bed. Brush teeth, fix hair, wash face, put on workout clothes.

4:30 a.m.: Get clothes, makeup, other wardrobe items in a bag for work.

4:45 a.m.: Get lunch together and in another bag to bring to work.

4:55 a.m.: Drive to the gym.

5:05 a.m.: Throw crap in a locker. Go work out.

6:15 a.m.: Take shower, get dressed, take crap out of locker.

6:45 a.m.: Run to the bus to catch the 6:50 a.m. train.

6:50 a.m.: Train into the city

7:35 a.m.: Wait for bus to campus.

8:15 a.m.: Walk from bus stop to office.

8:25 a.m.: Work.

5:05 p.m.: Take bus home.

5:35 p.m.: Transfer to train.

6:15 p.m.: Home, dinner, ready for bed.

8:30 p.m.: Exhausted. Bedtime.

Yeah. Doesn’t that sound exciting?

So I’m tossing the idea around with just running outside (brrr. Too cold right now and frankly, would I WANT to go running at night, when it’s slightly dark?), and going to the gym (early in the morning, because, if we’re being honest, once I come home from work, it’s realllllly hard to get my ass back out to work out). Going to the gym just makes sense.

But I need to work on my willpower.

And I’ll just keep repeating to myself that I have a photoshoot in another 30ish days, and if my bare ass is going to be photographed? I’ll be motivated to lose a few hours of sleep 😉

~ by shespeakstruth on October 30, 2012.